ESO Fellowship Programme 2013/2014



ESO Fellowship Programme 2013/2014

The European Southern Observatory awards several postdoctoral fellowships each year, offering outstanding early-career scientists the opportunity to further develop their independent research programmes in the exciting scientific environment of one of the world's foremost observatories. Fellowships are available both at ESO's Headquarters in Garching near Munich, Germany, and at ESO's astronomy centre in Santiago, Chile.


The fellowships in Garching are awarded initially for one year followed by a two-year extension (3 years total). In addition to developing their independent research programmes, ESO Garching Fellows will be expected to engage in some functional work, for up to 25% of their time, related to e.g. instrumentation, ALMA, E-ELT, or science operations support in Garching or Chile.
The fellowships in Chile are granted for one year initially, with annual extensions for three additional years (4 years total). During the first three years, Fellows are assigned to one of the science operations groups of Paranal, ALMA or APEX, where they will contribute to the operations at a level of 80 nights per year. During the fourth year there is no functional work, and Fellows may spend this year at any ESO site, or at any astronomical institute in an ESO member state or in Chile.

The programme is open to applicants who will have achieved their PhD in astronomy, physics or a related discipline before 1 November 2014. Early-career scientists from all astrophysical fields are welcome to apply. Scientific excellence is the primary selection criterion.
We offer an attractive remuneration package including a competitive salary (tax-free) and comprehensive social benefits. For more information about the fellowship programme and ESO's astronomical research activities, please see:

If you are interested in enhancing your early career through an ESO Fellowship, then please apply by completing the web application form available at

The closing date for applications is 15 October 2013.